Pink elephants and black taxis

I’ve already mentioned Popeye, the toy monkey that Grandma made for me, and now I’d like to introduce you to a couple of other toys that I’ve owned for a very long time.

Firstly, meet Hamrose, my pink elephant. This elephant is the same colour as ham and has roses on its ears. It was given to me by my maternal grandmother, but it was a long time ago. Rebecca has another elephant in the same style – a blue one with daisies.

Hamrose the Elephant and Popeye the Monkey are the only two stuffed toys which have enough sentimental value that I’ve kept them into adult life.

The following is a photograph of my one and only toy car. It’s a traditional black London Taxi; the backward-facing seats are adjustable, the opening to the driver’s compartment slides back, and of course the doors open. It has sentimental value because it was bought as we were on our way out of Britain in 1983. Rebecca got a traditional London red double decker bus.

I have various other ornaments – gifts, souvineers, etc – but these are the ones that go right back to my childhood and yet still have a place on my shelf.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.