Bats and birds: pictures from the park

Walking in Shepherds Hill Recreation Park on August 29th, I discovered someone had left a plastic bat hanging on a tree.

It’s actually very near where I once hid an ornamental dragon I didn’t need anymore, because it amused me to imagine someone stumbling upon it amidst the trees and wondering how it got there. Also I was curious to see how long it would take before it disappeared (answer: between one and two weeks). For all I know, the bat might have been put there by the same person who took my dragon (though my preferred hypothesis is that the latter was accepted by the resident fairies).

The following day I went for two more walks in the park, and took lots of photographs of birds. It was an outstanding day for that, I guess because the birds were nesting and therefore more interested in that than in flying away. Below are pictures of parrots, galahs, lorikeets and rosellas.

On my way home I recorded a video, which is embedded at the end of this post. There are no birds in the video, but you can hear them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here is the last time I posted photographs from Shepherds Hill Recreation Park (which happens to be a very short walk from my home).

(As for my recent difficulty uploading photographs, it is not yet solved, but I discovered I was able to upload them using a different browser.)

3 Responses to “Bats and birds: pictures from the park”

  1. Stan Says:

    It looks like a great place to ramble around in. I love the gnarly trees and their colourful inhabitants.

    Was that dog growling at you? Aggressive little feller.

  2. Flesh-eating Dragon Says:

    Yeah, it is good, especially this time of year (less so in the summer, when it can be a little dry). There’s also considerable variety, especially in the choice between valley walk or ridgetop walk (plus many smaller trails). People sometimes ride bicycles and horses here, there’s an archery club, and something for train lovers, too. You’ll always see birds, but usually in fleeting glimpses: they rarely pose.

    I don’t know what the dog was thinking any more than you do (at the time I was mostly thinking about keeping the camera focused on the scenery). I know what you mean, though. Certainly either aggressive or excitable, or some combination.

  3. Stan Says:

    Maybe just excitable, as you suggest. It reminded me of a little dog on my street who seems to bark at everyone who passes its gate. I don’t know if it considers us all a potential threat, or just barks out of habit, but I prefer when dogs are calm or can restrain themselves from barking at every encounter. Anyway, thanks for the added description of the park: good to have a choice of routes and views.


You are welcome to add your thoughts.

