Links for Late May 2012

I’ll begin with an item that I think merits being promoted to the top of the page.

From an article in Universe Today, I learned that someone has created a Lego version of the “Curiosity” Mars Science Laboratory and put it on the official Lego proposals site where, if it gets 10,000 votes, Lego will consider mass-producing it.

I haven’t played with Lego since I was a child, but if there ever was a model worth getting excited about, this is it. So far it only has between 500 and 600 votes, so if you agree that it’s a worthy cause, you might consider spreading the word so that as many people as possible can support it. (Note that you do have to create an account before voting: I was initially reluctant to take that step, but I gave into temptation just so I could support this project.)

When you vote, it asks you a few simple questions such as how much you’d be willing to pay for the product (I said $80) and why Lego should produce it (I said: represents an important milestone in space exploration). Here’s an old article to read if you need reminding of why Curiosity is cool. It’s due to arrive on Mars a few months from now.

And now, everything else.

I recently installed the Attachment Options extension for Thunderbird, which lets me set the attachment bar to automatically expand when an email contains an attachment. This makes it easier to notice that the email does contain an attachment, something that Thunderbird is by default rather too subtle about mentioning. This is the second Thunderbird extension I’ve installed, the first being one that toggles word wrap when composing emails.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

