Gifts from China

I’ve had some contact with my parents (currently in China), mostly via SMS. For example, on September 20, Mum texted this message: “Enamel work factory where we had lunch. Bought a lovely red dragon. Great wall fantastic. Glad 2 sit on bus 4 next 2 hrs though. Very, very steep.

Today I received a parcel. It contained the aforementioned red dragon, as well as a pair of lions and some photographic books (the one about the Great Wall has the best pictures). I have incorporated the ornaments into my collection underneath the TV; photographs below.

[Everything below this line is an update added later.]

I’ve received some more parcels now, and my parents have clarified that the packages include things intended for other people (but the dragon and lions are for me). Other items I’m keeping include a pack of terracotta-warrior-themed playing cards and a dragon wall hanging.

There is also a Chinese Chess board, which will probably go in the family games box.

All the other items are currently in boxes under my desk.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

