Spiral doodle thing

I do quite a lot of doodling in Windows Paintbrush — usually pixel-by-pixel editing under very high magnification, combined with copy-and-drag replication of patterns. No particular reason; it’s almost automatic, and something I might do while listening to a podcast or waiting for a video to load for example.

Here is one of my favourite doodles from 2009. The appeal for me lies in its deceptive simplicity. If you group the parts into spirals, the whole design turns out to be quite simple. However, the brain insists upon grouping the parts into patches of parallel lines, which makes it look much more complicated than it is.

[Everything below is an update not originally part of this post.]

Here is a fractal doodle that I drew in Paintbrush in July or August, and have decided to merge with this post. I didn’t set out to draw a fractal, but one emerged spontaneously from the iterative algorithm that I used. Basically, I drew a black pixel surrounded by six other black pixels in an approximation of a circle fully surrounded by six more circles, and then repeated this pattern using the composite shape at each level as the new circle approximant in the next.

2 Responses to “Spiral doodle thing”

  1. Stan Says:

    Nice doodle! Its general shape and slight asymmetry makes it seem like a much-simplified member of the Julia set.

    I love doodling too, but I usually go about it freehand.

  2. Flesh-eating Dragon Says:

    This is one of those topics that I could have blogged about any time, but was never sure whether I should.

    I’ve never thought of comparing this doodle to a Julia set or other fractal. Personally, I see a diamond or other cut gemstone glittering in the light, with facets formed by the regions of adjacent parallel lines.

    One of the forms of doodling I did back in the days when I was more often in possession of a sheet of paper (say, at university) was to draw some sort of design at random and then to draw designs that are topologically equivalent to the first.


You are welcome to add your thoughts.

