A World Within Your Mind

In 1997, I wrote a song called “A World Within Your Mind“, which may be the best song I ever wrote. The words and music have been on my website for years, but what with (a) the fact that I’m slowly migrating to a new website, and (b) the fact that I now see the website as secondary to the blog (rather than the other way around), I’ve decided that I should post it here.

The recording is almost as old as the song itself, and involved the use of a cassette tape. Lyrics below.

A World Within Your Mind (Adrian Morgan, 1997)

There’s a world I was exploring
A world within your mind
And in it I was searching
For a path I could not find.

I could not just keep going for I’d seen a sign that said
There is no place to go here on the path ahead.
I looked around within that world to find some other track
But I could not find a place to go but only forward and back.
So I just kept on going, ignoring what I knew –
That sign that said don’t go this way, it’s not the path for you.

I looked at all the wonders on each single patch of ground –
Around each corner there was much more to be found,
And on the way I might have missed a million other paths
But I was so distracted by the path toward the heart
That I just kept on going, ignoring what I knew –
That sign that said don’t go this way, it’s not the path for you.

The path came to an end as I had known it would some time –
A cliff face many metres down I could not hope to climb.
Vast open space in front of me I could not hope to cross
And on the edge I sat and shouted, help me, I am lost.
No longer kept on going, but did what had to be
And finally said, I’ve lost my way, please come and rescue me.

There must have been a place in that vast world I could have stayed –
I still believe my journey doesn’t have to end this way.
But all my earnest crying must have made the rocks vibrate
For next I knew I’d fallen and my body throbbed with ache.
Yes when I cried for help, that’s when that world abandoned me –
Such sacrifice to silence surely never had to be.

For weeks I lay in sadness and for weeks I lay in hope –
Both cursed and blessed by passing time I prayed that I might cope.
Then one day so suddenly the wind blew dust around
And underneath that dust I saw a message in the ground
And I could now start going, because of what I knew –
That sign that said, here is the way that is prepared for you.

There’s a world I am exploring
A world within your mind
And in the right direction
That took so long to find.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

