Passport renewal

I recently noticed that my passport had expired, so I’m now in the process of having it renewed. Because I don’t drive, a passport is often the most convenient way to prove my identity.

This means that I can finally get rid of my old passport picture, which could, I’ve always thought, easily be entered into a gallery of the world’s worst passport photographs. For a start, my hair was way overdue for a trim back then in 1999, and things were far too hectic to do anything about it.

I offer you a scan of the offending picture. If you’ve got one that’s even less complimentary, you may link to it in the comments.

oldpassportpic

The new one – to damn it with faint praise – is better.

(There is a website worstpassportphotos.com, by the way, but the copyright notice says 2008 and it’s still under construction, so I wouldn’t count on it ever being constructed.)

2 Responses to “Passport renewal”

  1. John Cowan Says:

    Don’t the Australian states, or whatever government level is responsible for issuing driver’s licenses, issue ones that don’t permit driving? This is common in the U.S.

    New York State, for example, issues non-driver’s licenses that say “Identification Card” instead of “Driver’s License” but otherwise look identical, so people who are used to seeing a driver’s license aren’t surprised by them. This is what I carry in my wallet, leaving my passport safely at home.

    This capability may already exist but be poorly publicized. It might be worth checking out, especially given that the fee for replacing a lost non-license is probably much lower than the fee for replacing a lost passport.

  2. Flesh-eating Dragon Says:

    There is a proof of age card, of which I don’t know very much at all.

    I’ve never felt the need to carry identification in my wallet, as occasions when proof of identity is necessary are infrequent and never without advance notice. Examples from my own experience include picking up a parcel from the post office, or scheduled appointments with government services.


You are welcome to add your thoughts.

