Fractal tray video

Lately I’ve been thinking relatively seriously about getting some decent video recording equipment, but in the meantime I can make very simple recordings using my digital camera or mobile phone. My phone lets me record fifteen seconds of unenviable quality, and it is definitely a challenge to record anything worth seeing in that time.

I have risen to that challenge in the video below, which showcases the fractal tray that I painted a number of years ago. What do you think? Would you like to see more short videos of this kind?

[Update: I’ve added photographs, prompted by Stan’s comment below.]

[and here’s the original fractal]


3 Responses to “Fractal tray video”

  1. Stan Says:

    Very nice work! Is it a functional tray as well as an art object?

    And did you take photos of it? The video footage is fine but quite low-resolution.

  2. Flesh-eating Dragon Says:

    It could be used as a functional tray, though personally I’ve had no inclination to put the varnish to the ultimate test.

    Photographs now included above, which is something I would have done eventually as I shift items from the website to the blog, but I might as well do it now.

  3. Stan Says:

    Thank you. In higher resolution it’s very beautiful. I wouldn’t use it as a tray either.


You are welcome to add your thoughts.

