My vote is cast

I voted this morning in the 2007 Australian federal election.

This post reveals how I voted, and will be updated with any comments I wish to make as the results come in.

Comments on results appear as indented, italic paragraphs like this, and I will amend them as more results come in.

Overall, the election result is a change of government in favour of the Australian Labor Party.

For the South Australian seat of Boothby, where I live, I voted as shown in the following graphic. Candidates are listed in the order they appeared on the ballot papers, and the numbers in the third column show how I ranked the candidates from best (1) to worst (8).

boothby-vote-2007.png

I support both the Democrats and the Greens, but I happen to know Jodi personally, which influenced my decision to rank the Greens at #1 this time around. I gave the Democrats #1 place in the Senate, as shown below.

Results for Boothby show that the incumbent Andrew Southcott has retained the seat for Liberal, but with a reduced margin. Labor did about as well as it did last time (slightly worse on primary votes). The only party to have won significantly more primary votes in Boothby than it did at the previous election is the Greens, which implies that Jodi must have done something right!

With about 95 percent of the Boothby vote counted at the last update, percentages of that vote in favour of Liberal, Labor and Greens respectively stands at about 46/34/10, as compared to 51/36/7 at the last election. Independent Ray McGhee has done well for an independent (acquiring about 5% of the vote), but the concept of a swing is inapplicable. I do feel for the Democrats.

There were forty-six candidates running this year for South Australia in the Senate. I voted below the line, and ranked the candidates as follows. Again, the candidates are listed in the order they appeared on the ballot paper, and the numbers in the third column show how I ranked them.

senate-sa-vote-2007.png

A note on “unnamed” groups. The group headed by Brian Paterson is the “Secular Party” (which apparently didn’t register its name in time for it to appear on the ballot papers or something). Nick Xenophon is famous in South Australia for his anti-gambling stance, which I support, but that was a while ago. LDP stands for Liberty & Democracy Party. You can look up the parties on the Internet if you want to know more about them, or I am willing to extrapolate on my opinions and rationales if requested.

Overall, it looks like the Liberal/National coalition will retain superior numbers in the Senate (but not an absolute majority, thanks to the Greens). In South Australia, Nick Xenophon has obtained a Senate seat, as has one Greens candidate, the remaining four seats being distributed evenly to the major parties. This is good – South Australia will be represented in the Senate by a healthy variety of representatives.

In terms of my graphic above, the victors in South Australia are my 3rd, 10th, 20th, 21st, 34th and 35th choices.

You have to remember, with the Senate, that only half the seats change hands at any one election. The “continuing” column on the senate results page represents those who will be staying on regardless, and see under “continuing senators” on the senate summary page for a breakdown of those senators by state.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

