Rebecca and Ellis’s party

Over several posts (here, here and here) I’ve reported various pieces of family news from the last few months.

There is now one item remaining.

My sister Rebecca and her fiance Ellis Smith officially celebrated their engagement on 2 June with a big party held on Ellis’s farm near Port Julia. They have been engaged since September 2006.

Everyone had lots of fun.

I could not possibly have asked for a better reaction to the gifts I bought for them, namely Tim the Enchanter’s hat and the Cow Catapult from Monty Python and the Holy Grail. I asked Ellis to close his eyes while I put the hat on his head, and then to go and find Rebecca. The reaction was classic. The hat really suits Ellis, who has grown a jungle of facial hair, but unfortunately I didn’t get a photograph.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

