Composing with modes

I mentioned here how Melinda, a piano teacher I had for a while in my mid teens, once set me the task of composing a tune exploiting the musical modes — those exotic scales obtained by using the notes of the C major scale but with a note other than C as the root.

Sheet music for the composition I came up with is now available.

I gave it a title at the time, but not a very good one. You can suggest one if you like.

I didn’t have Melinda as a teacher for long, because she left the area after she got married. I helped mix drinks at the reception.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

