Eventful weekend

The weekend of 7/8 October 2006 was very eventful. It was my Mum’s birthday on the 7th (she was born in 1952), so I visited my parents’ place – a farm called Olivigne, near the South Australian town of Maitland.

I caught up with friends, some of which I haven’t seen in a long time. For example I’ve known Rob Marlow since I was young, but haven’t seen him since his wedding (when I gave a copy of the Discworld board game Thud as a wedding present. He later wrote back, “It is bizzare, complicated, unpredictable and extremely entertaining. As such I think of you every time we play it“). Rob currently lives in Queensland, working in the army. I don’t see Rob’s sister very much either, but I see their parents routinely.

Another thing we did on the weekend was to playtest a game I invented. Called Peaks and Pits, it is a game for 3-5 players using a set of dominoes. The link goes to the rules on my website.

We played twice, with five players, and Rob won both times (in my fantasies, he’ll start the game spreading like wildfire through the Australian Army and beyond). All feedback was positive; it seemed to go down well. I have submitted the game to pagat.com and would love to hear from anyone who gives it a try.

Last but not least, I saw my grandparents. Both of my surviving grandparents are on Mum’s side, but their health has really deteriorated lately (especially Grandnan’s), which is very sad to see. It’s the first time I’ve seen them since they moved into The Village (that’s the name of the complex of retirement homes in Maitland). Makes me wish I’d seen more of them in the last few months.

You are welcome to add your thoughts.

