Post-Easter link catch-up

It’s been ages since I shared links, so I’ve got some catching up to do. First I’ll share older links. Then I’ll share some photos from my Easter break (think of it as an intermission). And finally I’ll share recent links.

Over Easter I visited my parents, and saw the inside of their new house for the first time (they’ve recently moved from the farm into the town). Here’s a sample photograph.


There are renovation plans in the works — the kitchen walls were painted while I was home, and many more changes lie ahead — so next time I visit the house might be more in their image. We did a variety of things while I was there, among them planting a wollemi pine in their back yard. You can see it near the centre of this photo.

There’s an annual Easter art exhibition at Ardrossan, which we went to, and Dad liked one painting so much that he bought it. What do you think of his taste?

I stayed at my parents’ place until the following weekend, when we all drove to Adelaide for a friend’s wedding on Saturday 14th. Mum and Dad stayed around in Adelaide for a few days after that, and among other things we went out to the Festival Theatre.

Feel free to ask if you want to know more. I now return you to your scheduled links:

  • Richard Wiseman created an iPhone app that’s meant to influence your dreams. I don’t have an iPhone, but I’d try it if I did. Here’s some press coverage (ignore the silly aside about movies at the end).
  • The Kickass web application lets you simulate the destruction of a webpage using a spaceship. You can also design your own spaceship, and so I designed one based on Ed Yong‘s blog logo (suitable for destroying anti-science sites, etc.) Here it is.
  • On the fight against worm infections in India.
  • Cute elephant video.
  • Cool graphs showing probability of a satellite falling on land vs water.
  • On identifying the Sun’s long-lost sibling stars.
  • Intellectual climate of 1900 Vienna, and how it fits into history.
  • How Isaac Newton became Sir.
  • Important new advance in repairing a damaged heart.
You are welcome to add your thoughts.

